Magic828 Stream Live
Download from Google Play
Download from Apple Store

Dalai Lama Set to Debut Music Album of Teachings and Mantras on 85th Birthday

His Holiness the Dalai Lama will release a new album that mixes mantras and chants with newly composed music, Inner World, out July 6th to coincide with the Tibetan spiritual leader’s 85th birthday.

The Dalai Lama previewed the 11-track album with “Compassion,” which is based on one of the most famous Buddhist prayers. The songs boasts a decidedly New Age flow with plenty of ethereal instrumentals, but it’s anchored by a steady bass and drum groove that the Dalai Lama rides deftly as he chants the Sanskrit mantra, “Om mani padme hum.”

The Dalai Lama made Inner World with the help of Junelle and Abraham Kunin, two married musicians from New Zealand. Per The Associated Press, Junelle Kunin first suggested the idea to the Dalai Lama’s office years ago after a futile search online for something that paired his teachings with music to serve as a stress relief at work. While Kunin’s idea was initially turned down, she was able to pitch it again during a 2015 trip to India via a letter she handed to one of the Dalai Lama’s assistants. This time, His Holiness accepted.

Inner World will also feature a guest appearance from acclaimed sitar player Anoushka Shankar (daughter of Ravi Shankar), who appears on the album cut “Am La.” Net proceeds from Inner World benefit the Mind & Life Institute as well as Social, Emotional and Ethical Learning, an international education program the Dalai Lama developed with Emory University.

Inner World Track List

1. “The Buddha”
2. “One Of My Favourite Prayers”
3. “Compassion”
4. “Courage”
5. “Ama La”
6. “Healing”
7. “Wisdom”
8. “Purification”
9. “Protection”
10. “Children”
11. “Humanity”

Read this article in full on The Rolling Stone

Comments are closed.